The Artificial Intelligence for Securing Cyber-Physical System Workshop will be held in conjunction with CCECE 2019 conference, in Edmonton, Canada on May 5th and aims to solicit high-quality research articles proposing the state-of-the-art AI-based solutions to improve the security and resiliency of the critical infrastructure, SCADA and cyber-physical systems.

Scope and Impact:

The deployment of smart technologies in communication layer brings new challenges for online monitoring and control of the Cyber-Physical Systems (CPS). In addition to failure of physical infrastructure, CPS is also sensitive to cyber-attacks on its communication layer. Such systems have the potential to have a major impact on all aspects of our lives. Examples of CPS include smart grid, autonomous transportation systems, medical monitoring, process control systems, robotics systems, and automatic pilot avionics. There are lots of discussions about the role of security-aware design and analysis in the development of modern CPS such as smart grid using advanced AI and machine learning techniques. Rapid advancement in AI technology enhances the scale, speed, and accuracy of the security in CPS. Various machine learning-based security assessment tools have been designed for CPS, which proves that AI is poised to revolutionize the way we monitor, control, manage, and respond to the emergency in critical CPS. AI is a popular ledger technology has the potential to be leveraged in different aspects of cyber security, cyber threat hunting and cyber threat intelligence. This Special Session seeks novel submissions describing practical and theoretical solutions for securing critical infrastructure and CPS using AI-based tools, techniques and procedures. The goal is to provide a sampling of recent advances and ideas on progresses of research and the practical usage of AI technologies in addressing security of the CPS. The scope for this workshop will be the retrospective study of past trends and the current state of AI-oriented cybersecurity in a clear context, allowing to imagine and then create future vectors in this specific domain. It is expected to receive at least 10 paper under this special session.

Topics:

Submissions may represent any application area for CPS including Embedded Systems, Internet of Things, SCADA Systems, Smart-Grid Systems, Critical Infrastructure Networks, Transportation Systems, and Medical Devices. Workshop suggested topics include, not exhaustively, empirical and theoretical studies of the following:

  • Applications of intelligent data analytics in CPS
  • Applications of blockchain and smart contracts in securing CPS
  • Application of AI in vulnerability and risk analysis for CPS
  • Cyber security and threat intelligence in CPS
  • AI-based security tools, techniques and procedures for Internet of Things (IoT)
  • Data security and privacy for CPS
  • Intelligent anomaly detection in CPS
  • Access Control and Key Management for CPS
  • Application of AI in CPS system security and privacy modelling and simulation
  • Human interaction with security and privacy issues of CPSs
  • Intelligent control strategies to improve CPS performance
  • Design, optimization and data-driven modelling of CPS
  • Novel sensor placement methodologies for CPS
  • AI-assisted digital investigation in CPS
  • Cyber threat hunting in CPS
  • Theory of AI in cybersecurity

Important Dates:

Submission of papers: January 15 2019
Notification of acceptance: February 15, 2019
Camera-ready papers: March 1, 2019

Submission:

The papers will be required to meet the same standards as the main conference papers and will be published in the conference proceedings. All papers need to be submitted electronically in PDF format by email to:

Prof. Hadis Karimipourhkarimi@uoguelph.ca 

Submitted papers must not substantially overlap with papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with proceedings. Papers must be clearly presented in English, must not exceed 4 pages in IEEE proceedings format (or up to 8 pages with the pages over length charge), including tables, figures, references and appendices. Papers will be selected based on their originality, significance, relevance, and clarity of presentation assessed by at least three reviewers. Submission of a paper should be regarded as a commitment that, should the paper be accepted, at least one of the authors will register and present the work. All accepted papers will be published in IEEE proceedings (EI Indexed) and collected by IEEE Xplore Digital Library. One outstanding papers will be selected to receive the Best Paper Awards.

Note: Authors of best papers will be invited to submit extended version of their papers to our journal special issues and books:

  

Blockchain Ecosystem: Technological and Management Challenges and Opportunities - IEEE Transactions on

ENGINEERING MANAGEMENT (link)

Blockchain Cybersecurity, Trust, and Privacy (link)

Handbook of Big Data and IoT Security (link)

Program Committee Chairs:

  • Ali Dehghantanha, University of Guelph, Canada (adehghan@uoguelph.ca)
  • Hadis Karimipour, University of Guelph, Canada (hkarimi@uoguelph.ca)

 

Program Committee:

  • Venkata Dinavahi, University of Alberta, Canada (dinavahi@ualberta.ca)
  • Henry Leung, University of Calgary, Canada (leungh@ucalgary.ca)
  • Hossam Gabar, University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT), Canada (hossam.gaber@uoit.ca)
  • Miguel F. Anjos, Polytechnique Montreal, Canada, (miguel-f.anjos@polymtl.ca)
  • Simon Yang, University of Guelph, Canada (syang@uoguelph.ca)
  • Medhat Moussa, University of Guelph, Canada (mmoussa@uoguelph.ca)
  • Andrew Gadsdon, University of Guelph, Canada (gadsden@uoguelph.ca)
  • Pirathayini Srikantha, Western University, Canada(psrikan@uwo.ca)
  • Kim-Kwang Raymond Choo, University of Texas at San Antonio, USA (raymon.choo@utsa.edu)
  • Reza M. Parizi, Kennesaw State University, USA (rparizi1@kennesaw.edu)
  • Antonis Mouhtaropoulos, Digital Forensics Laboratory, University of Warwick, UK
  • Farnaz Derakhshan, University of Tabriz, Iran (derakhshan@tabrizu.ac.ir)
  • Gregory Epiphaniou, University of Wolverhampton, UK (epiphaniou@wlv.ac.uk)
  • Xiaodong Lin, Wilfrid Laurier University, Canada (xlin@wlu.ca)
  • Ivan Bajic, Simon Fraser University, Canada (ibajic@ensc.sfu.ca)
  • Eman Hammad, University of Toronto, Canada (ehammad@ece.utoronto.ca)
  • Reza Esmaili, Amsterdam University of Applied Science, Netherland (esmaili@hva.nl)
  • Hany Farag, York University, Canada (hefarag@cse.yourku.ca)
  • Maryam Shahpasand, Asia Pacific University, Malaysia (maryam.shahpasand@staffemail.apu.edu.my)
  • John Clark, University of Sheffield, UK (clark@sheffield.ac.uk)
  • Gregory Epiphaniou, Wolverhampton University, UK (g.epiphaniou@wlv.ac.uk)
  • Haleh Amintoosi, Ferdowsi University, Iran (haleha@cse.unsw.edu.au)
  • Mohammad Hammoudeh, Manchester Metropolitan University, UK (m.hammoudeh@mmu.ac.uk)